Home Up One Level What's New? Q & A Short Essays Holocaust Denial Guest Book Donations Multimedia Links

The Holocaust History Project.
The Holocaust History Project.



we have a question as to the 24 executives of the I.G. Farben company that were brought to trial at nuremburg for war crimes at auschwitz. who were they and what were the rulings? the chief prosescutor was purported to be general telford taylor. is there any information we can read regarding this? thanks

Harry W. Mazal OBE Responds:

Thank you for your recent request for information.

I am one of the persons in the Holocaust History Project that responds to questions from our readers. It is possible that you will receive other answers from my colleagues.

The Nuremberg case to which you are referring is:

Case No. 6 -- United States vs. Carl Krauch, et al. - This trial is popularly known as the "I. G. Farben Case." the case is covered in Volumes VII (1601 pages) and VIII (1454 pages) of the "Trials of War Criminals before the Nuernberg Military Tribunals."

The Chief of Counsel for the Prosecution was, as you correctly state, General Telford Taylor.

These volumes are generally available in the larger public libraries of big cities. I am presently placing the entire Nuernberg Trial series on my personal web site, with volumes I to V being available at this moment. It will take several months before we can add Volumes VII and VIII


In the meantime, please find the list of the 23 (not 24)accused and of the sentences meted out to them:

  1. Karl Krauch - Six years less time served.

  2. Hermann Schmitz - 4 years less time served.

  3. Georg von Schnizler - 5 years less time served.

  4. Fritz ter Meer - 7 years less time served.

  5. Otto Ambros - 8 years less time served

  6. Ernst Buergin - 2 years less time served.

  7. Heinrich Buetefisch - 6 years less time served.

  8. Paul Haefliger - 2 years less time served.

  9. Max Ilgner - 3 years less time served.

  10. Friedrich Jaehne - 1 1/2 years less time served.

  11. Heinrich Oster - 2 years less time served.

  12. Walter Duerrfeld - 8 years less time served.

  13. Hans Kugler - 1 1/2 years.

    The following accused were acquitted:

  14. Fritz Gajewski

  15. Heinrich Hoerlein

  16. August von Kniereim

  17. Christian Schnieder

  18. Hans Kuehne

  19. Carl Lautenschlaeger

  20. Wilhelm Mann

  21. Karl Wurster

  22. Heinrich Gattineau

  23. Erich von der Heyde.

    I hope that this is the information that you were seeking.

    Yours sincerely,

    Harry W. Mazal OBE

    Related Links:

    back to the list of questions


Last modified: November 1, 2003
Technical/administrative contact: webmaster@holocaust-history.org