Accessed 16 May 2000


15 DECEMBER 1999

Part V

Part I  Part Ia  Part II  Part III Part IV

Annex II. List of persons interviewed

Annex III : Abbreviations

Annex II. List of persons interviewed

I. United Nations Officials

(position held during the Rwandan crisis in 1994 in parentheses)

Boutros Boutros-Ghali, Secretary-General of Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie
(Secretary-General of the United Nations)

Kofi Annan, Secretary-General of the United Nations
(Under-Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations)

Hedi Annabi, Assistant-Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations
(Director of Africa Division, DPKO)

Henry K. Anyidoho
(Deputy Force Commander of UNAMIR)

Maurice Baril, Genl, Chief of Defence Staff, Canada
(Military Adviser to the Secretary-General)

Jacques-Roger Booh Booh
(Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Rwanda)

Hans Corell, Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs

Romeo A. Dallaire, Lt Genl, Special Adviser to the Chief of Defence Staff, Canada
(Force Commander of UNAMIR)

Jan Eliasson, State Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Sweden
(Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs)

Ibrahima Fall, Assistant Secretary-General for Political Affairs
(Director of the Center for Human Rights)

Jean-Francois Gascon, Representative a.i. FAO Kigali

Ghenet Guebre-Christos, UNHCR Representative , Acting Resident Coordinator, Kigali

Chinmaya Gharekhan
(Senior Political Adviser and Special Representative of the Secretary-General on the Security Council)

Marrack Goulding, Warden, St Antony's College Oxford
(Under-Secretary-General for Political Affairs)

Peter Hansen, Commissioner-General, UNRWA
(Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs)

James O. C. Jonah, Minister of Finance, Sierra Leone
(Under-Secretary-General for Political Affairs )

Leonard Kapungu, Chief, Lessons Learned Unit, DPKO

Mohamed Shaharyar Khan, Ambassador of Pakistan, France
(Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Rwanda)

Luc Marchal, Col.
(Kigali Sector Commander, UNAMIR)

Bernard Muna, Deputy Prosecutor of the ICTR

Waly Bacre Ndiaye, Director of the New York Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
(Special Rapporteur of the United Nations Commission on Human Rights)

Sadako Ogata, UN High Commissioner for Refugees

Kieran Prendergast, Under-Secretary-General for Political Affairs

Isel Rivero, Director, UN Information Centre, Madrid
(Desk Officer for UNAMIR, DPKO)

Iqbal Riza, Chef de Cabinet, EOSG
(Assistant Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations)

R. Gordian Rugarabamu, Assistant Resident Representative, UNDP Dar es Salaam
(Member of UN team at Arusha talks)

Diana Russler, Deputy United Nations Security Coordinator

Daphna Shraga, Senior Legal Officer, OLA

Sergio Vieira de Mello, Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs

Ralph Zacklin, Assistant Secretary-General for Legal Affairs

Representatives of the local staff of the United Nations in Kigali

Heads of United Nations Agencies in Kigali

II Member States


Pasteur Bizimungu, President

Vincent Biruta, Acting Prime Minister and Minister for Public Works, Transport and Communications

Francois Ngarambe, Minister of Youth, Culture and Sports

Bonaventure Niyibizi, Minister of Energy, Water and Natural Resources

Joseph Nsengimana, Minister of Land, Resettlement and Environmental Protection

Charles Ntakirutinka, Minister of Social Affairs

Constance Rwaka, Secretary-General, Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Protais Musoni, Secretary-General, Ministry of Local Government

Joseph W Mutaboba, Permanent Representative to the United Nations

M Kamanzi, Lt. Col.

Ndoba Gasana, National Human Rights Commission

Aloysie Inyumba, National Unity and Reconciliation Commission

Denis Polisi, MP


Pierre Chevalier, State Secretary for Foreign Trade, Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Alain Destexhe, Senator, Belgian Senate Inquiry (Commission d'enquête parlementaire concernant les événements du Rwanda)

Czech Republic

Karel Kovanda, former Permanent Representative to the United Nations 


Hubert Védrine, Minister for Foreign Affairs

Paul Quilès, Chairman, French Parliamentary Inquiry (Enquête sur la tragedie rwandaise 1990-1994)

Bernard Cazeneuve, Rapporteur, French Parliamentary Inquiry 


Bonaya A Godana, Minister for Foreign Affairs

BK Mbaya, Director for Political Affairs 

New Zealand

Colin Keating, Secretary of Justice, former Permanent Representative to the United Nations 


Ibrahim A. Gambari, former Permanent Representative to the United Nations 

South Africa

Nelson Mandela, former President 


Yoweri Museveni, President 


Benjamin Mkapa, President

John Malecela, former Prime Minister

Emmanuel Mwalumbulukutu, Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs

United States

William Wood, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for International Organizations

Richard Bogosian, Ambassador

David Rawson, former Ambassador to Rwanda

Cynthia McKinney, Congresswoman, House of Representatives

III Survivors:

The Inquiry met with a number of survivors of the genocide, and their representatives, in Rwanda, Belgium and the United States. Among those whose accounts are explicitly referred to in this report are

Representatives of the survivors from the ETO

Ms Louise Mushikiwabo

Mrs Annonciata Kavaruganda

Mrs Florida Mukeshimana Ngulinzira

IV. Families of the ten Belgian peacekeepers killed on 7 April

V. Expatriate community of Kigali

Pierre Antonio Costa, Consul, Italian Cooperation

Dr. De Porter and Dr. Vincke

VI. Non-governmental organizations (Rwanda)

Representatives of

Concern (Chair of NGO Forum)

IBUKA (Association of Genocide Survivors)

ASOFERWA (Association de Solidarite des Femmes Rwandaises)

CLADHO (Collectif des Ligues et Associations de Defense des Droits de L´Homme)

LIPRODHOR (Ligue Rwandaise pour la promotion et la defense des Droits de l`Homme)

CARE International


Rakiya Omaar, Africa Rights 

VII Academics and experts

Howard Adelman, Professor, York University

Alison DesForges, Human Rights Watch

Adama Dieng, International Commission of Jurists

Michael Doyle, Professor, Princeton University

Barbara Harff, Professor, US Naval Academy

Arthur Klinghoffer, Professor, Rutgers University

Machivenyika Tobias Mapuranga, Ambassador, Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Harare, Zimbabwe

Gerard Prunier, Professor, CNRS, Paris

Filip Reyntjens, Professor, University of Antwerp

VIII International Committee of the Red Cross

Cornelio Sommaruga, President


Annex III : Abbreviations

BBTG Broad-based Transitional Government

CDR Coalition pour la Defense de la Republique

CND Conseil National du Developpement

DMZ De-militarized Zone

DPA Department of Political Affairs

DPKO United Nations Department of Peacekeeping Operations

EOSG Executive Office of the Secretary-General

ETO Ecole Technique Officielle

FALD Field Administration and Logistics Division, DPKO

ICRC International Committee of the Red Cross

ICTR International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

KWSA Kigali Weapons Secure Area

MRND Mouvement Revolutionnaire National pour le Developpement

NAM Non-Aligned Movement

NGO Non-governmental Organization

NIF Neutral International Force

NMOG II OAU Neutral Military Observer Group

OAU Organization of African Unity

PDD25 U. S. Presidential Decision Directive 25

PSD Parti Social Democrate

ROE Rules of Engagement

RGF Rwandese Government Forces

RPF Rwandese Patriotic Front

RTLM Radio-Television Libre des Mille Collines

SRSG Special Representative of the Secretary-General

UNAMIR United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda

UNHCR United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

UNOMUR United Nations Observer Mission Uganda-Rwanda

UNV United Nations Volunteer

New York, 15 December 1999


Ingvar Carlsson

Han Sung-Joo

Rufus M Kupolati

Part I  Part Ia  Part II  Part III Part IV

Document compiled by Dr S D Stein
Last update 16/05/2000
©S D Stein

ESS Home Page
Holocaust Index Page
Genocide Index Page